Nerd News Roundup

I am one lazy bastard.

There.  I said it.  It has been a while since I have rounded up the nerd news, so I’m a little behind.  Here goes…

Joe Simon, Captain America Co-Creator, Passes Away

Joe Simon

On December 15th, Joe Simon passed away.  He was 98.

Simon was a legend in the comics industry, along with his collaborating partner, Jack Kirby.  They made countless contributions to the field together, including creating Captain America way back in 1941.

Mr. Simon will be missed and will be fondly remembered as one of the true greats in comics.

Source: NerdBastards

Avengers to be Released in 3D, Joss Whedon Says It Won’t be Obnoxious

JOss Whedon and the Avengers

I don’t know about anyone else, but when Disney announced that the Avengers will be released in 3D, I wasn’t surprised.  The only problem is that it was not shot in 3D, so the conversion will be in post production.  A lot of movies that were converted in post have been nearly ruined due to bad conversions.

Thankfully, Joss Whedon has come to save the day.  While speaking with JoBlo, he had this to say:

“There’s no, ‘Oh look, we’re going to spend 20 minutes going through this tunnel because it’s in 3D!’ And no one is pointing at the screen the entire time. But it’s an action movie. Things tend to hurtle toward the screen anyway.” … “I’m not a big fan of extreme long lens, talky movies – I like to see the space I’m in and relate to it, so 3D kinda fits my aesthetic anyway. And the technology has advanced so far in the past couple years.”

He definitely has a point.  I try to avoid 3D movies because of some of the crappy gimmicks, like the tunnel thing he mentioned (that and I’m too cheap to pay extra for 3D).  Hopefully, Avengers will only be more badass in 3D.

If only he could return to the Buffyverse, because…

Source: /Film

Buffy the Vampire Slayer Reboot Presumed Dead, Buffy Fans Rejoice

Buffy the Vampire Slayer

A little while back, 20th Century Fox announced that plans for a reboot for Buffy the Vampire Slayer, minus Joss Whedon.  Nerds everywhere raged in their moms’ basements at the news.  Then, first time screen writer Whit Anderson was hired to write the script.  Again, nerd rage.  Anderson handed her draft to the studio, and it was met with extreme disinterest.

Or, as L.A. Times Hero Complex writer Geoff Boucher tweeted:

Dead Buffy TweetAs a follow up, Boucher then tweeted:

Dead Buffy Tweet 2As a fan of the Buffy TV show (and the movie.  Can’t forget the movie.), I am beyond happy that this project looks dead.  You never know, Joss may get to make a new Buffy movie at some point in time, a la Firefly.  But, until then, I’ll watch the movie and box set of DVD’s and read the Season 8 & 9 comics and be happy.

Source: Blastr

First Images of Comedian and Nite Owl II from Watchmen Prequels Realeased

I still don’t know how I feel about the Watchmen prequels.  I am a fan of the original Watchmen, and I don’t really think new stories are necessary, but the idea of fleshing out some backstory for the characters is intriguing.  On the other hand, if it ain’t broke…

Anyway, DC has released images of Nite Owl II and Comedian for our viewing pleasure.

Here is Dan Drieberg, aka Nite Owl II, by Andy and Joe Kubert:

Nite Owl

He looks pretty much the same, only a little thinner, which makes sense.  He was older and out of shape in the original story, so a leaner, meaner Nite Owl is good.

Now, the Comedian, by J.G. Jones:

ComedianAgain, looks a lot like his counterpart in the original.  And, he is looking extremely cool.  Except for the codpiece.  What is with the codpiece?  I understand he had one in Watchmen, but it was a little more subdued.  Just sayin’.

Source: ComicBookMovie

Marvel Selects Alan Taylor to Direct Thor 2

Alan Taylor

Who?

My thoughts exactly.  As someone who lives without cable, I have yet to see some of the shows that a lot of nerds clamor over, like Game of Thrones and Boardwalk Empire.  If I had seen those shows, I would have known exactly who Taylor is.

From Deadline.com:

Marvel Studios has found its Thor 2 director. I’m told that Marvel has set Alan Taylor, who was widely rumored to be on the short list to replace Patty Jenkins. Jenkins got the job but then fell out over differences with Marvel on the sequel.

As far as I can tell, Taylor has no movies to his credit, but Marvel must see something in him.  So far, their choices for directors have been pretty much spot on, so hopefully that streak continues.

Taylor joins returning screenwriter Don Payne, and stars Chris Hemsworth, Natalie Portman, and Tom Hiddleston.  Thor 2 will be released November 15, 2013.

Source: Deadline.com

I think I have bored you enough for today.

Leave a Reply

